Review of Nick Lowe’s new single-Check Out Time

It’s fitting that Nick Lowe ponders his mortality in a song that captures his musical career so well.  A rollicking rocking country tune with lyrics that hint to gospel music while using popular culture references, Lowe shows off some of the aspects that are highlighted in his discography that have garnered so many fans over the years.  And yet, with all those ingredients, Lowe is able to create a pop tune that seems effortless and simple.

Listen here.

Lyrics:
I’m 61 years old now,
Lord I’d never thought I’d see 30
Though I know this road is still some way to go
I can’t help thinking on
will I be beloved and celebrated for my past or decline
or just another bum when it comes to check out time

I’m fearful my chances are crossing over jordan into glory
may be comprised by the pies I’ve had my finger in
must I be condemned for ever damned for some long forgotten crime?
or singing rock of ages with the angels soon after Check Out Time?

Yes, when it’s time to pay the bill
I’m going to grab my bag
and I will throw it in the first cab that I find
I’m gonna make this a day to remember until Check Out Time

must I be condemned for ever damned for some long forgotten crime?
or singing rock of ages with angels soon after Check Out Time?

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

